Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title

by
Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title
Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title. Photo: Sumio Yamada.

Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title

by
Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title
Tepora loses the WBA Interim Title. Photo: Sumio Yamada.

The Filipino Jhack Tepora did not make weight this last Friday, January 18th, in Las Vegas. Because of that he lost his Interim Title of the World Boxing Association (WBA).

Article 9, paragraph D, of chapter E of the rules of the WBA states: “Should a champion fail to make weight after the additional two (2) hour
period, he shall lose his title. If the challenger makes weight, and the challenger wins the bout,
he shall be crowned the new champion.” For this reason, the Championship Committee of the organization has stripped the Filipino of his belt.

When the agreed combat did not take place, the Mexican challenger Hugo Ruiz was fighting for the the Interim Featherweight Title of the WBA that was vacant.


Gabriels defends against Dwyer in Managua

Gabriels defends against Dwyer in Managua



Dominguez vs. Rivera fight for WBA Continental Americas belt

Dominguez vs. Rivera fight for WBA Continental Americas belt

Two flyweight prospects will face off this Saturday at the...

Agüero will face Lucero with the goal of defending his WBA Fedelatin crown

Agüero will face Lucero with the goal of defending his WBA Fedelatin crown

World Boxing Association (WBA) Fedelatin super featherweight champion Jose Francisco...

Andy Cruz defends his WBA regional belt against Zamarripa

Andy Cruz defends his WBA regional belt against Zamarripa

Cuban sensation Andy Cruz will defend his World Boxing Association...