Franco-Moloney was ruled a No Decision in Las Vegas

by ,
Franco-Moloney was ruled a No Decision in Las Vegas

Joshua Franco’s first bout as World Boxing Association (WBA) Super Flyweight Champion against Andrew Moloney was ruled a No Decision at the MGM Grand, in Las Vegas.

In a fight that lasted only two rounds, the champion’s eye was quite swollen from the first round. When they were going to go out for the third round, referee Russell Mora decided to stop the fight due to the swollen in Franco’s right eye, and determined that the reason had been an accidental headbutt from Moloney.

However, the decision was thoroughly reviewed by the Nevada Commission in the instant replay and after half an hour they ratified the third man’s decision on the ring for the San Antonio native to keep the black and gold belt. It should be noted that the fight does not count as a defense since there was no decision in the fight.

The fight had started with good action and with a very active Moloney against Franco, who tried to use his advantage in height and his uppers to keep the aggressive Australian at bay. The public was left wanting more because of how entertaining the fight was but Franco’s injury did not allow the fight to continue.

The American continues with a record of 17 wins, 1 loss, 2 draws, and 8 KOs, while Moloney has a record of 21 wins, 1 setback, and 14 KOs.




Tennyson and O’Reilly met before their WBA elimination fight this Friday

Tennyson and O’Reilly met before their WBA elimination fight this Friday

James Tennyson and Josh O’Reilly will enter the ring at...

WBA made decisions related to Championships

WBA made decisions related to Championships

The World Boxing Association (WBA) Championships Committee had a busy...

WBA orders Shumenov-Merhy

WBA orders Shumenov-Merhy

The World Boxing Association (WBA) Championships Committee ordered the Cruiserweight...