Punches in the canvas

by
Punches in the canvas
The boxer's impetus can become a negative fact

Sometimes, when there is a legal knockdown, that impulse can lead him to hit his opponent on the canvas. It is an action that represents a great danger to the integrity of the fighters and is considered illegal, however the referee´s good job can minimize it:

  1. The work begins with the referee’s instructions in the dressing room. The referee must be blunt when giving his instructions emphasizing the dangers and penalties for hitting a knocked down opponent.
  2. When such action occurs, the first thing the referee should do is call in time and send the offending boxer to the neutral corner. The third man on the ring should analyze carefully and with great concentration whether the blow was intentional or accidental.
  3. If the blow is considered to be intentional, the referee must look at the injured boxer and allow him considerable time to recover (not five minutes as in the case of low blows). If he cannot continue, the referee must disqualify the offender. If the injured boxer can continue, the referee will call the offender to the center of the ring and deduct 2 points.
  4. If the blow is not intentional and the injured fighter cannot continue, the fight will be declared No Decision, provided that no more than four (4) rounds have gone by. In case four rounds have passed, it will go to the scorecards.
  5. The referee may use instant replay to clarify the incident. It is important to know that the referee may only change his initial decision if the video clearly and without reasonable doubt demonstrates that his first call was mistaken. Otherwise, he will have to maintain his decision.

Jorge Linares will dictate clinic in Medellin

Jorge Linares will dictate clinic in Medellin



Merhy and Zsello will fight for the WBA Cruiserweight Interim Title this Saturday

Merhy and Zsello will fight for the WBA Cruiserweight Interim Title this Saturday

Belgian Ryad Merhy and Hungarian Imre Szello will fight for...

Bivol retains his WBA World Light Heavyweight Title

Bivol retains his WBA World Light Heavyweight Title

World Boxing Association (WBA) World Light Heavyweight Champion Dmitry Bivol...

Bivol and Lenin face to face in Chicago

Bivol and Lenin face to face in Chicago

The city of Chicago will be addressed with boxing this...