Don't Miss

Duran, Foreman and Holyfield will be inducted into Nevada Hall of Fame

Durán, Foreman y Holyfield serán exaltados al Salón de la Fama de Nevada

Durán, Foreman y Holyfield serán exaltados al Salón de la Fama de Nevada

On Saturday, August 9, 2014 will take place in Las Vegas, Nevada Nevada State Boxing Hall of Fame induction of 18 figures that helped the growth of the best venue for fistic events worldwide.

Among the inductees of Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame there are names like the former World Boxing Association world champions like the Panamanian Roberto “Manos de Piedra” Duran who fought in eight different divisions. He won the lightweight, welterweight, middleweight and super middleweight. He retired in 2001 with more than 100 victories and only 16 defeats.

George Foreman was two time world champion and defended the WBA and WBC heavyweight belts in 1973 -1974 when he defeated Joe Frazier and lost with Muhammad Ali in 1974. In 1994 he won the heavyweight title. He retired in 1997 with 76-5, 68 KO´s.

Evander Holyfield won his first WBA title fight (cruiserweight) in 1986, with 11-0 and defended it five times till 1988 whe he moved up division. He was the first cruiserweight to win simultaneously the belts of all the organizations. He was five times heavyweight world champion. He retired with 44-10-2-1, 29 KO´s.

More Hall of Fame inductees
Other figures inducted to the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame this Saturday are Sonny Liston and Cornelius Boza as residents of Nevada. Jack Dempsey and Archie Moore will be inducted as pioneers, besides Joe Louis as adopted residents of Nevada.

Among those non boxers inductees are Miguel Díaz, the officials Richard Steele and Kenny Bayles, the journalists Bob Sheridan and Kevin Iole, the promoter Bruce Trample. Minker and Mack as CEO’s besides Perlman and Wynn, as special collaborators.